An IEP meeting complete with stars and fairydust

Today was the semi-annual IEP meeting for Henry and his teachers. IEP stands for Individualized Education Plan, but should really stand for Incredibly Excrutiatingly Long Planning Meeting. So I guess it would be….IELPM? Hmmm.

Anyway, this meeting was actually quite enjoyable, which for those of you out there with kids and an IEP you know how odd that statement sounds. But I’m serious – it was kinda fun. Henry is on track with his plan, and is actually testing right on par for most things, which both thrilled and surprised me. He is just trucking right along, the sweet little stinkhead.

One of the things we looked at was fourth grade. He’s going to pretty much have the same level of support he has now, but he will be allowed to – get this – have an mp3 player for testing. Here’s the deal: I shared with his teacher a couple weeks ago that he concentrates much better with music. So! Now I get to make a mixtape for my ten year old. I’m thinking some Sabbath, a wee bit of NIN, maybe some Ozzy? Oh, I kid, I kid. He’s a John Denver kind of guy.

Bottom line, the meeting went good, Henry is good, and all is well in the world. I even did a little celebratory jig, which was kind of awkward and embarrassing since I realized two seconds after I did such jig that my fly? It was wiiiiide open. Yeah. Way to poke a hole in that bubble of happiness, universe!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

