Mother’s day musings

Since we had THREE baseball games yesterday (oy!), I had a lot of time to think about Mother’s Day and how it has changed for me over the years.

Obviously, when you’re a little kid, the number one thing you can do for your mom on MD is to make her something special. And that’s what my three kiddos did. In fact, I was bawling my eyes out before 7:30 AM, which both concerned and thrilled them at the same time. The thing that did it for me was my 13 year old’s illustrated poem; we’ve had kind of a tough year with him so that meant so much to me.

Then, at the baseball game, this kid was on FIYAH. He hit two doubles, masterminded a double play, and ended up being one of the most valuable players of the tournament. In between the games, the team stood up one by one and did a verbal tribute to their moms. I swear to God, there wasn’t a dry eye on the field. These big ol’ strapping boys telling their moms how much they love ’em was just over the TOP for this girl. Then hugs and kisses all day from all three rugrats – man, it was awesome.

Then came time for the obligatory call to my mom. I love my mom. I really do. She’s just hard to talk to. And that’s okay. We chatted for a little while, I updated her on the kids, thanked her for the card she sent me. It was nice. Most of our phone calls revolve around her telling me how wonderful my brothers are and what they’re doing….she still hasn’t gotten over the fact that I got married and moved away and I’m NOT moving back. It’s hard for her, I know, and I try to be patient.

The whole Mom thing is weird. My relationship with my Mom? It is what it is. I know that she is very limited in her ability to have relationships with other folks, and so I need to take that into account, and just be thankful for what we have. And I really, really, am.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

