Rainy days and Mondays always on my mind

Today, for the first time in like a bajillion years, it is raining.

I love rain. That’s probably why I love the Northwest, because if you don’t like rain here, you’re going to be pretty dang unhappy. I love everything about rain: the drip-drip, the trickles, gosh, I even don’t mind getting soaked. I’m that crazy about rain.

I especially love how it makes my kids want to play with toys they haven’t played with in a while. Right now, they are playing with this big racetrack thing we got at one of those mall kiosks (my favorite one is always, ALWAYS the weird wig/hair extension one). They’ve been playing with it for hours, and except for a brief crazy screaming interlude where both of them were crying and waving cars around, they’ve been very happy.

Happy kids = happy momma! I love listening to them play. It’s one of my favorite things in the world. And rain is one of the things that makes this all possible. Unlike camping, which is actually what we were going to be doing today, out on the coast. Suffice it to say that since it is pouring down rain with thundershowers, we…um….well, we wimped out. I don’t want to admit this, but the very thought of staying in a tent while it’s raining cats and dogs makes me want to go back to bed and pull the covers over my big wimpy head.

Leave a Reply

