Where did the time go?

See this guy?

Today is his 14th birthday.

I remember so much about the day he was born. My water broke – quite explosively, I might add – at 5:30 AM, and for the next two hours, I puttered around the house, very serene, while my husband followed me and timed the contractions. I remember going into the bathroom and having a “holy crap!” moment, realizing that there was absolutely no way I was going to get out of this experience now, that I was in it for the long haul.

17 and a half hours later (!) James arrived. We didn’t know what to name him, and talked about it on the phone (DH had gone home for some clothes). It became crystal clear to both of us that the only name that would fit would be of my Papa, my grandfather, who had passed away just four months earlier after a long fight with Lou Gehrig’s disease.

Even now, 14 years later, I still cry when I think about my Papa. He was the best man I’ve ever had the privilege to know, and I’m so glad that James carries on his name. So, so glad.

Anyway! Enough sap, huh? James has had a good birthday today. He requested Mom’s homemade cinnamon rolls (done) and a visit to the mall (done). For the first time, we gave him money instead of gifts, and he was THRILLED, yet, I think he would’ve loved some gifts, too. No matter how much teenagers protest, they love that kind of thing.

Love you, James. You’ll always be my sweetheart. Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

