In quietness and confidence shall be your strength

I’m a big fan of social media (obviously), and I have accounts at Twitter, Friendfeed, Facebook, etc. I guess you could call me a geek, although I’m certainly outgeeked by many people in my particular niche – I just don’t have the time or energy to dedicate that they do. Especially when reading posts like Robert’s, which praises the merits of Friendfeed vs. Twitter, two services I utilize consistently if not constantly (I even wrote an article on how I use Friendfeed over at Mashable last week).

Frankly, I’m astonished at how much time Robert and others like him spend at these services. I know that this is part of their job, and they do it well, but wow. Just, wow. One of the commentors at this post suggested it was like “drinking from a fire hose”, and I have to agree. However, it does seem to work for them, although if you’re drinking from a fire hose, how do you savor the individual nuances and flavors?

Personally, I like to choose who I listen to very carefully. I have limited time since I have a family and my first responsibility is to them, so while I use Friendfeed, I definitely don’t have it open all day (it’s just too addicting!). I want to be thoughtful about who I give my time to. I don’t want to be scattered, chasing different bits of information all over the place to no good end. After all, the bottom line is that all this techie stuff, while infinitely interesting, isn’t going to tuck my kids into bed, or kiss my husband, or make my home into a warm and welcoming place for friends and family.

That’s just me, though. I appreciate what Robert and those like him do to introduce these services to all of us and make them more attractive, and I applaud their aggressive use of new technology in order to create a more level playing field.

Leave a Reply

